What a party!

Dates:

  • Next gig – Friday 15th July @ Midlin Day Care, 59 Pitkerro Drive, 1.30-3pm
  • Tuesday 19th July – no class / no gig
  • Tuesday 26th July – no class – gig @ Seaton Grove, Arbroath, 2-3pm.
  • Tuesday 2nd August – no class – gig @ Midlin Day Care, 1.30-3pm.
  • Tuesday 9th August – classes restart at 12 noon
  • New gig – Thursday 25th August, Willowbank Care Home, 56 Maule Street, Carnoustie, 2-3pm
  • New gig  – Friday 4th November, Food Train Befrienders, Market Mews, Market Street, Dundee DD1 3LH – Confirmation and more details to follow. If you would like to find out more about this group click Food Train Befrienders.

Tuesday 12th July was a very special day for Dee Ukes as one of our members, John, celebrated his 90th birthday! Many thanks to all who contributed to the entertainment which was fabulous as you will see from the videos below. Thanks also for all the food and drinks which were provided. ( I have in my possession a lovely silver oval tray which was left behind. Get in touch if it is yours.)

I must also say another big thank you to all my Dee Ukes friends for the lovely flowers, card (complete with mini uke!) and gift voucher which I will take great delight in using! I am so lucky to have such a friendly, enthusiastic, supportive group of people to share my Tuesdays with (and all the other gig days!)

I managed to track down Jim and his wife Isobel to hand over the card and gift from Dee Ukes. (and of course the smiley helium balloon!). They were surprised and delighted and kindly sent their thanks as well as a couple of photos.

 

 

Here are the videos. Enjoy!

Pat started off proceedings and soon had everyone strumming and singing along. I was very impressed!

George was up next to show off his guitar skills. Considering he has only been playing the guitar for 5 weeks, he did pretty well.

Alice and Denis were next to entertain us with a brilliant performance of Rod Stewart’s Hold the Line.

Maggie sang a beautiful song for John called The Lambs on the Green Hills as he had previously asked her if she knew it.

John responded by singing a different version of the same song. Apologies for the poor sound on this one.

Anne treated us to a classical piece called Nostalgia by Cees Hartog. Beautiful!

Our very own Ukulele Babes entertained us with Blue Eyes Crying in the Rain followed by Bottle of Wine.

George was back with his performance of In a Town Like This.

Our Birthday Boy John led the way with Little Old Wine Drinker Me.

Just 3Folk were next and sang False Young Man and Cotton Mill Girls.

The Ukulele Babes were back singing The Fields of Athenry.

 

Birthday Boy John rounded off the entertainment by sing and playing The Hiking Song.

John chose a couple of songs for us all to sing and play together to round off what had been a terrific afternoon: Caledonia and Newport Braes. Great choices.

Here is a selection of photos taken from our party.

What a lot of very talented friends I have. 🙂

woo-hoo

 

Finally, John has been in touch with the following message:

Could you please pass on my grateful thanks for the good wishes and presents I received yesterday.  I feel awkward when accepting gifts and put them aside to open later.  However , Mame prevailed upon me to open the large envelope and when I did I was completely “dumfoonert”

I have never seen anything like it and was thrilled to bits.  When I got home and opened the gift card I could not believe my eyes at the wonderful monetary gift you all gave me.  What a wonderful bunch you all are.  I think I was among the first members of Dee Ukes and it has been a time of great happiness for me at the practices and gigs.

As was only to be expected, the entertainment yesterday was brilliant but I would like to mention Maggie who put so much into her lovely rendition of “The lambs in the green fields”  which is one of my all time favourites.  “Stewball “ also brought back memories of the Woodlands Folk Club in the early 60’s when many of the big names used to come to Dundee.

I bet you never realised what you were starting when you set up Dee Ukes!!

Love the word “dumfoonert”! John, you are an inspiration to us all. Ke-ee-ep strumming. See you at the next party. 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “What a party!

  1. Thanks for this super reminder of the brilliant party for John’s 90th birthday. It was great fun and most enjoyable. Many happy returns to John, and thanks Liz for organising the party and and on-line photos and vides. Fantastic!
    Anne H

    Like

Leave a comment